Not an excuse but maybe a reason

by Jim Morgan

A week or two ago a friend asked me why I didn’t go to church anymore. I concocted some goofy answer that amounted to “I don’t like people.” The fact is that most churches lack a certain “organic quality.” We dress up and go to church and act as though nothing is wrong or is ever wrong and that God is blessing our lives profusely. Oftentimes, it is hard for me to put on that face and go through the ritual of a Sunday’s activities. Loving up on people in hard times, being responsive to the call of God out in the world, being a friend and a brother to someone you don’t really know, getting your hands dirty with people in trouble (even if it is yourself) that’s real and meaningful.

Before everyone jumps on me, I understand the need for the corporate church service. Sometimes, however, while church may happen on Sunday and most of the time for me it happens Monday-Saturday.

