I have done a bad, bad thing…

by Jim Morgan

I read somewhere that the RMS dude wgets webpages and then opens them in a text editor when he is not online. His supposition is that they are safer, more private, etc etc.

I did that for a few of the webpages that have been floating around my Matrix to see how it would work out for me. When I opened a few of them in a text editor it scared the living poop out of me! One particular webpage was mostly javascript stuff and if I read all the code correctly it had FIVE different ways to track my visit to that site! WOWZERS! If even 10% of the websites I visit do that it doesn’t really matter what I do Google, Facebook, Yahoo, Twitter, NSA, GBHQ, Five Eyes, and my giddy Aunt Sally all know what I have been looking at anyway.

#themdamnhippiesstolemytinfoilhat

