twittering life away

by Jim Morgan

from http://jimmorgan.us

twittering life away

What started out yesterday as a sardonic “oh goodie another conversation about databases!” has led to me getting a new Twitter account in order to spice up my timeline and may lead to me ending my microblogging career all together.

I don’t really remember why I started into Twitter and Statusnet anyway. I think it had to do with self-promotion or self-glorification or something in the beginning. I can’t really say that this has been all that successful. Besides, at this point I don’t really write for an audience. I won’t complain if there is one but I really write for me. I write because I need to write. No greater reason than that.

When you stop to think about all the microblogging services are really just duplicate services that you have already with your blog. I am most familiar with Blogger, Tumblr, and WordPress but those services allow one to post as much or as little as they want. They can post via email, sms, or im. Blogs also allow one to post pics, audio, and other files. You can also follower other blogs. In short if you have a blog you already have everything that a microblog has to offer plus the opportunity to go over 140 characters.

Microblogging had become my main form of entertainment. I determine the quality of an app by how well it performs in the micro category. But like all forms of entertainment this one is losing it’s savour and losing it rapidly. The main topics in my timeline are either tech related or someone off on some crusade who is trying to convert me to their viewpoint. There is nothing essentially wrong with either one but I have much wider interests.

These other interests require time that microblogging is wasting. One of the things that I have enjoyed lately is reading other folks’ travel blogs. Reading posts like this one warm the soul after spending days looking at tech talk and political talk and not know what the hell is going on.

For the next few days I will be ignoring my microblogs and avoiding the IM account that they are attached to. I will be using my IM account jimmorgan@im.wordpress.com and if you have the ability with your IM to enter chatrooms I can be found with the cool folks in the multi-user-conference parlementum@conference.parlementum.net.

Trying to decide whether or not to stop microblogging is proving a challenge. It is a habit with me now. But I am coming to the conclusion that it is unnecessary and redundant.

I just don’t know what I’ll do yet

